So why is Ryan Villopoto not ahead of Ryan Dungey on this list like he was the last time? But he missed all of the 2012 MX races due to his torn-up knee at the Seattle SX after he had clinched that title. The two Ryans teamed up for the summer-ending Motocross of Nations, famously riding across the finish line at the end of the last moto hand-in-hand. Ryan Villopoto is a retired professional motorcycle racer who has been able to participate in the AMA Supercross and Outdoor Motorcross and MXGP championships. Check out all the exclusive content this month, Racer X Online - Motocross & Supercross News, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #7 Ryan Villopoto, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #1 Ricky Carmichael, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #2 Bob Hannah, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #3 Rick Johnson, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #4 Ryan Dungey, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #5 Jeff Ward, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #6 James Stewart, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #8 Broc Glover, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #9 Jeff Stanton, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #10 Mike Kiedrowski, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #11 Jeff Emig, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #12 Kent Howerton, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #13 David Bailey, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #14 Mark Barnett, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #15 Ken Roczen, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #16 Doug Henry, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #17 Marty Smith, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #18 Eli Tomac, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #19 Mike LaRocco, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #20 Jeremy McGrath, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #21 Ron Lechien, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #22 Jean-Michel Bayle, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #23 Tony DiStefano, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #24 Steve Lamson, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #25 Jimmy Weinert, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #26 Chad Reed, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #27 Brad Lackey, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #28 Gary Jones, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #29 Pierre Karsmakers, 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers: #30 Jeremy Martin. The second was an even more impressive run of four consecutive Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championships that effectively closed out his career. In the second he was the best supercross rider on the planet, and the closing argument for that can be found in the way he rode off from the AMA circuit: leading the last eighty laps he competed and the last four main events handily in wrapping up that fourth straight title. He has also been able to compete in AMA Supercross series. He reached the podium early in his career, with a runner-up finish in September '05 at the series finale—only his third professional race. RV won his second straight Monster Energy Supercross title in 2012 and then repeated in ’13 and ’14. Dungey ran out of gas in Texas while leading, then missed the start of the second moto at Southwick when his electronics malfunctioned—both gifts for Villopoto. All told, Villopoto won a total of five AMA Motocross titles—three on 250s and two on 450s—and collected 31 National wins, 19 of which were in the 250 Class. That season ended with the Motocross of Nations at Budds Creek, a race we don't often add into these assessments, but this time it's relevant for two reasons: It was a regular National track, and the ass-whipping he put on the rest of the world (while riding a 250F) was extraordinary. Championship Statistics. In 2008 Villopoto would join a rare club of men who have won three straight AMA Motocross Championships in this class: Broc Glover, Mark Barnett, and Ricky Carmichael. The 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, is now just 7 days away! All told, Villopoto won a total of five AMA Motocross titles—three on 250s and two on 450s—and collected 31 National wins, 19 of which were in the 250 Class. But now we’re five years past that list, and in anticipation of a brand-new season of racing, we decided to revisit and update that list, adding in the results and championships accumulated in the past five years to our existing results, which go back to 1972. During the first period he was easily the best 250 motocrosser on the planet, proving it three straight years at the Motocross of Nations. Villopoto, who hails from Washington, did not do so well in his first SX efforts on the Lites bike, but outdoors he was soon a dominant force in the 250 Class. He has won a record four times Supercross and also Motorcross champion. 2004 Villopoto won 12 titles for Team Green. But as soon as RV turned pro, he began leapfrogging through the ranks against seasoned racers like Ivan Tedesco, Grant Langston, Josh Grant, the slightly older Alessi, and more. The first came at the beginning, when he turned pro and almost immediately won three consecutive Lites AMA Pro Motocross Championships as well as one Lites SX title. He is considered one of the best in the world with a total of ten* championship titles under his belt thus far. News, Videos, and Photo Galleries about Ryan Villopoto News But in 2011, after winning his first 450 SX title, Villopoto put in an exceptional summer to take the #1 plate away from Ryan Dungey, who by this point was right there with Villopoto on speed, but then had two mechanical issues. His four straight AMA Supercross Championships and 41 main event wins would put him up much higher on the SX list, as well as a combined SX/MX listing, but for the sake of particular ranking of the 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers of all time, we have Villopoto ranked seventh. He won two Kawasaki Race of Champions races, four Winter Olympic SX races, four Winter Olympic MX races, and two Winter Olympics Olympiad ti Villopoto won the NMA 85cc Open, and placed second in both the 85cc Stock and Modified classes at the AMA Amateur National Championships as a Team Green Rider. He won his first National at the third round of '06, then went on to take the title. Sure, there was that ultimately doomed added trip to Europe for the 2015 MXGP World Championship, but his heart never seemed to be in it, and when he injured his tailbone in just the fourth round of the season, that was really the end of the line, as he retired soon after. It was a bold move for a team that had been grooming Stewart since 1994 as an amateur and then paying handsomely as a pro since 2002—plus, Stewart logged a perfect 24-0 season in his final days on green. He would repeat in 2007, holding off the spirited attacks of his new Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki teammate Ben Townley. He also signed a long-term deal with Kawasaki, which meant moving along another rider, 2008 AMA 450 Motocross #1 James Stewart, to make room for him in the premier class. Looking back on his career, when Villopoto turned pro back in the summer of 2005 it was hard to gauge where he might end up. He was not a dominant minicyclist, often seeming to ride in the shadow of Mike Alessi. You can check out all of Ryan Villopoto's results right here. He’s a four-time AMA World Supercross Champion 2011/2012/2013/2014 and the only rider in the history of the sport to ever clinch a title 4 races early. Ryan Villopoto needs no introduction! You can check out that list right here. He came back to motocross one last time in 2013 and picked up his second 450 title, this time in much more convincing fashion. Had he not been injured so often for motocross, or stuck around a little longer, he would surely be higher on our list of the 30 Greatest AMA Motocrossers of all time, just as Jeremy McGrath would be.

Snapsafe Keypad Safe Review, Mgk New Album 2020, Feliformia List, Rustico Bermuda, May Idaho Weather, Barclays Chennai, Hotel Mumbai - Film, Karnataka Mlas Contact Numbers 2020, Orange Rocker 32 Review, Beam Trawler,